Rui L. Aguiar

[S’88, M’91, SM’07] is a professor at the Universidade de Aveiro, and a senior researcher at the Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal. Currently also a visiting professor ar Universidade Federal de Uberlândia, and in the past Associate Professor at INI, CMU. Concluded the Licenciatura (five-year degree) and the M.Sc. in Electronic and Telecommunications Engineering in 1990 and 1995, and a Ph.D. in Eletrotechnical em 2001, all from the Universidade de Aveiro. His main interests are currently on 5G and future internet systems, from the network to the application layers. He has been the founder of the HNG and ATNOG research groups. In these groups, he was involved in many EU-funded research projects, and is currently a member of the European 5G PPP Infrastructure Association. He has been General and TPC chair of different events, from ACM, IEEE and IFIP (in 2014, he was Chair at NTMS’2014, ISCC’2014 and Mobiarch’2014). He is currently associate editor of Wireless Networks and of Emerging Telecommunication Technologies and performs regularly evaluation tasks for projects and grants, at the national and international levels. He has around 400 contributions in multiple fields, from circuits to applications, and has several scientific Best Prizes. He is a senior member of IEEE and of ACM.


Joel Rodrigues

[S’01, M’06, SM’06] is a professor in the Department of Informatics of the University of Beira Interior, Covilhã, Portugal, and researcher at the Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal. He received the Habilitation in computer science and engineering from the University of Haute Alsace, France, a PhD degree in informatics engineering, an MSc degree from the University of Beira Interior, and a five-year BSc degree (licentiate) in informatics engineering from the University of Coimbra, Portugal. His main research interests include sensor networks, e-health, e-learning, vehicular delay-tolerant networks, and mobile and ubiquitous computing. He is the leader of NetGNA Research Group (, the Chair of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on eHealth, the Past-chair of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Communications Software, Steering Committee member of the IEEE Life Sciences Technical Community, Member Representative of the IEEE Communications Society on the IEEE Biometrics Council, and officer of the IEEE 1907.1 standard. He is the editor-in-chief of the International Journal on E-Health and Medical Communications, the editor-in-chief of the Recent Advances on Communications and Networking Technology, the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Multimedia Information Systems, and editorial board member of several journals. He has been general chair and TPC Chair of many international conferences, including IEEE ICC and GLOBECOM. He is a member of many international TPCs and participated in several international conferences organization. He has authored or coauthored over 400 papers in refereed international journals and conferences, a book, and 3 patents. He had been awarded several Outstanding Leadership and Outstanding Service Awards by IEEE Communications Society and several best papers awards. Prof. Rodrigues is a licensed professional engineer (as senior member), member of the Internet Society, an IARIA fellow, and a senior member of IT, ACM, and IEEE.


Daniel Corujo

Daniel Corujo is a Research Fellow in the University of Aveiro, Portugal, where he concluded his Ph.D. in Communication Models for the Future Mobile Internet, in 2013. He has previously worked in telecommunication management software at Nokia Siemens Networks and as an IMS deployment executive for the research branch of Portugal Telecom. He is currently working as a researcher for the Advanced Telecommunications and Networks Group (ATNoG) at IT-Aveiro, Portugal, where he worked in several EU IST, EU ICT and national projects, and is pursuing research areas in mobility mechanisms for heterogeneous networks and the Future Internet, having authored over 50 publications in international and national book chapters, journals and conferences, having received best paper awards, and acted as well as reviewer and Technical Programme Committee member. He is a member as well as an active contributor and author to IEEE standards, namely of the IEEE 802.21 standard. He is also a contributor and authors to IRTF and IETF standards. He is also project manager of several software projects at IT-Aveiro, such as ODTONE and OPMIP.


Lúcio Studer Ferreira

[M’02] is a Senior Researcher at INOV-INESC | IST University of Lisbon, being also a Professor at Lusíada University of Lisbon, Portugal. He received the Licenciatura and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering from IST in 1997 and 2013, respectively. Previously, he worked at Instituto de Telecomunicações, Lisbon, and Deutsche Telekom Innovation Laboratories in Darmstadt, Germany. His work focuses on Wireless/Mobile Communications, with special interest for wireless access, mesh, sensor and cloud-based networks. His research focuses on Wireless/Mobile Communications, involving wireless access, mesh, sensor and cloud-based networks. He has large international expertise in working within consortia of European leading mobile communications operators, manufacturers, vendors and research institutions. He has participated in 16 research projects within the European frameworks of IST, ICT and COST, being co-redactor of numerous proposals and technical reports, and having taken leadership responsibilities at various levels. He was external reviewer of international research partnerships. He has acted as consultant for Portuguese mobile communications operators and the telecommunications regulator, besides other public and private entities. He authored publications in major international journals and conferences, for which he also served as a reviewer, Technical Programme Committee and Organising Committee member. He is IEEE member.